‘Frank Walter: Artist, Gardener, Radical’ open now until 25 February | BOOK YOUR VISIT

Home » News » Rupert Tyler appointed the Garden Museum’s next Chair of the Board of Trustees

Rupert Tyler appointed the Garden Museum’s next Chair of the Board of Trustees

The Garden Museum is delighted to announce the appointment of Rupert Tyler to the role of Chair of the Board of Trustees. Rupert will take over the position, which has been held by Mark Fane for twelve years, in June 2023.

In his new role, Rupert will lead the Trustees and team in the strategic development of the Museum and in fulfilling its potential as the only Museum in Britain dedicated to the art, history and design of British gardens and their place in our lives today.

Rupert brings a wealth of experience spanning different sectors and a keen interest in gardens, gardening and the arts. This is supported by his strong business background and understanding of the vital importance of diversity and inclusion in all areas of society.

Photo by Jake Darling Photography

During his 35 years in the City, Rupert has managed a diverse portfolio of private clients including Trusts, Personal Pensions, Charities and Private Charitable Trusts. Rupert is Chair of Jerwood Arts, an endowed charity which seeks out and promotes excellence in artists in all art forms throughout the UK.

He was appointed as Chair of the National Garden Scheme (NGS) in 2020, having been a Trustee for some years. He and his partner, architectural and garden designer Charles Rutherfoord, have created and nurtured their own garden in London over the course of 35 years, featuring in many magazines and gardening programmes and open regularly for the National Garden Scheme. Both are Liverymen of the Worshipful Company of Gardeners.

He was Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee at Ravensbourne during the delivery of a ground-breaking new campus on the Greenwich peninsula. The institution also achieved University status during this time.

Rupert says, “I am thrilled to become Chair of this vibrant institution; I’m hugely looking forward to seeing the Lambeth Green project coming to fruition and to seeing the wonderful gift of Benton End fulfilling its potential in the horticultural world. I have huge shoes to fill, following in Mark’s illustrious footsteps, but I will ensure that the Garden Museum will continues to stride into its future for the benefit of everyone.”

Mark Fane says, “I am very pleased to be handing over the role of Chair to Rupert at such an interesting time for the Garden Museum. Due to the hard work of the Trustees and the staff, the Garden Museum has seen incredible development and growth over the last decade as the country’s first museum dedicated to gardens. I am sure that Rupert will expertly lead the Museum through this next exciting phase of its development. He will be ably supported by a very capable management team and Board of Trustees and I wish him, and everyone else involved with the Garden Museum, all the very best for the future.”

Rupert will be joining a Board of Trustees with a broad range of experiences and skills, from knowledge of horticulture and art, fundraising, floral design, to the legal system, finance and commercial activities.

The Chair will lead this group during an exciting period of the Museum’s journey, including:

  • The next stages of our capital project to green our neighbourhood, Lambeth Green, through a Dan Pearson landscape and new pavilion for horticultural training designed by Mary Duggan
  • The development of Benton End, the former art school of Sir Cedric Morris in Hadleigh, which was recently gifted to the Museum
  • The Garden Museum becoming one of Arts Council England’s National Portfolio Organisations
  • Raising an Endowment for the Garden Museum’s long-term financial sustainability

The Garden Museum’s Board of Trustees is currently made up of:

Tania Compton
The Lady Egremont
Edward McMullan
Bridget Pinchbeck
The Marchioness of Normanby
Lady Ritblat OBE
Sir Charles Saumarez Smith CBE
Edwina Sassoon
Bryan Sanderson CBE
Tom Stuart-Smith
Hazel Gardiner
Jeremy Clay

Top image: Rupert Tyler and departing Chair Mark Fane, Jake Darling Photography
Posted on Posted in News